In the Spotlight
Latest Headlines
For Immediate Release: Equality Texas Celebrates Our 30th Anniversary by Honoring Our Strongest Advocates and Legislative Champions and Celebrating 30 Years of Protecting LGBTQ Texans
Posted on November 25, 2019 at 1:37 pm

Angela Hale, Equality Texas, 512.289.2995


AUSTIN, Texas – November 25, 2019 – Equality Texas celebrated its 30th anniversary as the largest statewide organization solely dedicated to securing full equality for LGBTQ Texans. The nonprofit organization, incorporated in 1989, spent Saturday night honoring heroes, milestones, and victories across three decades of education and advocacy.

“We have always envisioned a Texas where lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer Texans and their families have full equality in the hearts and minds of our fellow Texans and in all areas of the law,” said Elizabeth Myers, Chair of the Equality Texas Foundation Board. “We’ve come a long way and we’re proud to celebrate those who have fought against discrimination and stood tall for love, equality, and freedom for all Texans.”

Equality Texas has a long history in Texas. In 1978, lesbian and gay activists recognized the need to be active at the Texas Capitol. In 1989, they incorporated into the Lesbian/Gay Rights Lobby (LGBRL) of Texas, which changed its name to Equality Texas in 2006.

“The work of equality in Texas has not been easy, but the champions and allies at Equality Texas have never been deterred,” said Angela Hale, Acting CEO of Equality Texas. “In an often-hostile political climate, we’ve been able to increase HIV/AIDS funding, update hate crimes protections, defeat destructive legislation like ‘bathroom’ and ‘religious exemption’ bills, and help elect out legislators who formed the state’s first LGBTQ Caucus. We still have work to do to protect every LGBTQ Texan and visitor from discrimination, but after 30 years, it’s time to celebrate our incredible progress and community and time to go on the offense and pass a comprehensive non-discrimination bill to protect all Texans including LGBTQ Texans.”

The gala, emceed by Acting CEO Angela Hale and veteran journalist Harvey Kronburg, included the following awards:

  • Legacy Award: State Sen. José Rodríguez, State Rep. Senfronia Thompson
  • Leadership Award: Texas House LGBTQ Caucus Co-Founders, State Reps. Jessica González, Mary González, Celia Israel, Julie Johnson, and Erin Zwiener
  • Profile In Courage Award: State Rep. Sarah Davis
  • Transgender Activist Award: Monica Roberts
  • Glen Maxey Activism Award: Kimberly and Kai Shappley
  • Business Champion Award: Apple
  • Business Leadership Award: Gearbox Software
  • Business Association Champion Award: VisitDallas and Texas Welcomes All and former CEO Phillip Jones


Equality Texas is the largest statewide organization working to secure full equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender Texans through political action, education, community organizing, and collaboration. The Equality Texas Foundation works to secure full equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender Texans through education, community organizing, and collaboration. / Twitter, Facebook, Instagram: @EqualityTexas