HB 187 – Thompson, S
It is illegal, under current law, to pay a woman less for doing the same job as a man. However, as Texas law is currently written a woman has only 180 days after her pay is set to file a complaint with the Texas Work Force Commission. In Texas, households headed by two women make, on average, 11% less than households headed by a woman and a man, meaning that LGBT women are disproportionately affected by pay disparity. In order for equal pay guarantees to have any real affect the law needs to be changed to allow for complaints to be filed up to 180 days after a the issuance of a paycheck that reflects discriminatory pay practices.