In the Spotlight
Latest Headlines
84th Texas House Scorecard
Posted on June 3, 2015 at 1:47 pm

House Score card graphicRankings of legislators are always tricky. It’s difficult to include all the little things that happen behind the scenes, the influence of members on each other, or the true motivations or beliefs of individual members. That said, it’s important to acknowledge the public actions of the people elected to represent us. In compiling this score card we considered public votes, authorship of pro- and anti-LGBT legislation, filing of resolutions acknowledging the LGBT community and committee votes on issues affecting the LGBT community. Behind the scenes work and advocacy was not included.

We’ve given each member of the Texas House a letter grade. The best lawmakers got an “A+,” the worst an “F-” (that’s how bad they are, we had to invent a grade).

There is certainly room for debate, particularly when something as complicated as this is reduced to a letter grade. We’d love to hear your opinion of the score card. How’d your representative do? Did we score them too harshly? Too favorably? Share this list with your friends and let’s have a conversation about how the people elected to represent us did over the last five months.

You can see the full math behind how this list was developed HERE.

Check out our list of the 10 best and 10 worst members of the Texas House on LGBT issues.

Roberto Alonzo, D-Dallas
Rafael Anchia, D-Dallas
Garnet Coleman, D-Houston
Nicole Collier, D-Fort Worth
Jessica Farrar, D-Houston
Mary E. González, D- Clint
Celia Israel, D-Austin
Ron Reynolds, D-Missouri City
Toni Rose, D-Dallas
Chris Turner, D-Grand Prairie
Sylvester Turner , D-Houston


Alma Allen, D-Houston
Carol Alvarado, D-Houston
Diego Bernal, D-San Antonio
Cesar Blanco, D-El Paso
Terry Canales, D-Edinburg
Yvonne Davis, D-DeSoto
Joe Farias, D-San Antonio
Helen Giddings, D-De Soto
Roland Gutierrez, D-San Antonio
Ana Hernandez, D-Houston
Donna Howard, D-Austin
Eric Johnson, D-Dallas
Marisa Márquez, D-El Paso
Armando Martinez, D-Weslaco
Trey Martinez Fischer, D-San Antonio
Joseph E. Moody, D-El Paso
Sergio Muñoz, Jr., D-Mission
Elliott Naishtat, D-Austin
Joe C. Pickett, D-El Paso
Richard Peña Raymond, D-Laredo
Justin Rodriguez, D-San Antonio
Eddie Rodriguez, D-Austin
Ramon Romero, Jr., D-Fort Worth
Armando Walle, D-Houston
Gene Wu, D-Houston


Sarah Davis, R-Houston
Harold V. Dutton, Jr., D-Houston
Ryan Guillen, D-Rio Grande City
Oscar Longoria, D-La Joya
Ruth Jones McClendon, D-San Antonio
Borris Miles, D-Houston
René O. Oliveira, D-Brownsville
Senfronia Thompson, D-Houston


Hubert Vo, D-Houston


R.D. ‘Bobby’ Guerra, D-Mission
Abel Herrero, D-Robstown
Tracy O. King, D-Batesville
Eddie Lucio, III, D-Brownsville
Poncho Nevárez, D-Eagle Pass
Joe D. Deshotel, D-Beaumont


Larry Gonzales, R-Round Rock
J.M. Lozano, R-Kingsville
Jason Villalba, R-Dallas
David Simpson, R-Longview


Charles ‘Doc’ Anderson, R-Lorena
Rodney Anderson, R-Grand Prairie
Trent Ashby, R-Lufkin
Jimmie Don Aycock, R-Killeen
Dwayne Bohac, R-Houston
Cindy Burkett, R-Sunnyvale
Dustin Burrows, R-Lubbock
Angie Chen Button, R-Garland
Giovanni Capriglione, R-Southlake
Travis Clardy, R-Nacogdoches
Byron Cook, R-Corsicana
Myra Crownover, R-Denton
John Cyrier, R-Lockhart
Tony Dale, R-Cedar Park
Drew Darby, R-San Angelo
Marsha Farney, R-Georgetown
Allen Fletcher, R-Tomball
James Frank, R-Wichita Falls
John M. Frullo, R-Lubbock
Rick Galindo, R-San Antonio
Charlie Geren, R-Fort Worth
Craig Goldman, R-Fort Worth
Patricia Harless, R-Spring
Todd A. Hunter, R-Corpus Christi
Jason Isaac, R-Austin
Kyle Kacal, R-College Station
Jim Keffer, R-Eastland
Ken King, R-Canadian
Susan King, R-Abilene
Linda Koop, R-Dallas
Brooks Landgraf, R-Odessa
Lyle Larson, R-San Antonio
Morgan Meyer, R-Dallas
Doug Miller, R-New Braunfels
Geanie Morrison, R-Victoria
Andrew S. Murr, R-Junction
John Otto, R-Dayton
Chris Paddie, R-Marshall
Tan Parker, R-Flower Mound
Dade Phelan, R-Beaumont
Walter ‘Four’ Price, R-Amarillo
John Raney, R-Bryan
Matt Schaefer, R-Tyler
Leighton Schubert, R-Brenham
Kenneth Sheets, R-Dallas
Dr. J.D. Sheffield, R-Gatesville
Wayne Smith, R-Baytown
Dr. Stuart Spitzer, R-Kaufman
Gary VanDeaver, R-New Boston
John Wray, R-Waxahachie
Dr. John Zerwas, R-Richmond


Cecil Bell, Jr., R-Magnolia
Dennis Bonnen, R-Angleton
Dr. Greg Bonnen, R-Friendswood
DeWayne Burns, R-Cleburne
Tom Craddick, R-Midland
Gary Elkins, R-Jersey Village
Wayne Faircloth, R-Galveston
Pat Fallon, R-Frisco
Dan Flynn, R-Van
Dan Huberty, R-Humble
Bryan Hughes, R-Mineola
Mark Keough, R-The Woodlands
Phil King, R-Weatherford
Stephanie Klick, R-Fort Worth
Matt Krause, R-Fort Worth
John Kuempel, R-Seguin
Jodie Laubenberg, R-Parker
Jeff Leach, R-Allen
Will Metcalf, R-Conroe
Rick Miller, R-Sugar Land
Jim Murphy, R-Houston
Dennis Paul, R-Houston
Gilbert Peña, R-Pasadena
Larry Phillips, R-Sherman
Debbie Riddle, R-Tomball
Matt Rinaldi, R-Irving
Scott Sanford, R-McKinney
Mike Schofield, R-Katy
Matt Shaheen, R-Plano
Ron Simmons, R-Lewisville
John Smithee, R-Amarillo
Drew Springer, Jr., R-Muenster
Phil Stephenson, R-Wharton
Jonathan Stickland, R-Bedford
Ed Thompson, R-Pearland
Tony Tinderholt, R-Arlington
Scott Turner, R-Frisco
James White, R-Hillister
Molly S. White, R-Belton
Paul Workman, R-Spicewood
William ‘Bill’ Zedler, R-Arlington