In the Spotlight
Latest Headlines
Equality Texas and the Equality Texas Foundation Announce New Leadership
Posted on April 14, 2011 at 10:55 pm

New board chairs include appointee under the late Gov. Anne Richards

AUSTIN, Texas (April 14, 2011) – Equality Texas (EQTX) and the Equality Texas Foundation have announced new leadership to oversee the organizations’ boards of directors.

The EQTX Board of Directors elected Anne Wynne to serve as the chair. Wynne, an attorney in Austin, has previously worked in politics as a political appointee under the late Texas Gov. Ann Richards. Wynne served as chair of the General Services Commission, member of the Texas Transportation Commission, and a member of the Texas Turnpike Authority Board of Directors. Wynne has practiced law in Texas for the past three decades. As a straight ally, Wynne joined the EQTX Board of Directors to build a better future for all Texans.

“I joined the push for equality because I wanted to stand up for the rights of others and make sure our kids grew up knowing that equal rights for all people is a fundamental right in our country. Love makes a family and all families should have the same rights that my family has,” said Wynne.

The Equality Texas Foundation is a separate charitable entity, which conducts research and educates Texans about policies and their effect on Texans of all sexual orientations and gender identities/expressions. The Equality Texas Foundation board members elected Whitney Kelly as chair. Kelly, a business consultant from Amarillo, has nearly two decades of experience leading arts and advocacy organizations in the Texas Panhandle.

EQTX and the Equality Texas Foundation welcomed new board members as well. Joining the EQTX Board of Directors are Joseph Hernandez of Dallas (Northern Trust Bank – Vice President Regional C.R.A.); Travis Gasper of Dallas (AIDS Interfaith Network – Development Director); Elizabeth Lopez of Little Elm (Mine Safety & Health Administration – District Secretary) and Rob Giardinelli of Austin (Seagate Technology – Sr. Channel Account Manager). Joining the Equality Texas Foundation Board of Directors are Dave Guy-Gainer of Forest Hill (Retired, U.S. Air Force); Cordey Lash of Dallas (Hilton Anatole – Senior Multicultural Sales Manager) and Kayla Shell of Austin (Dell – Legal Director).

As a non-partisan organization with more than two decades of rich history, EQTX has established itself as a policy and advocacy authority at the Texas Capitol and across the state. EQTX has achieved bipartisan support while accomplishing a strong legislative agenda. Both organizations work successfully at the local and state levels toward ending discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity/expression.